Attendance Staff

Name & E-mail

Alphabet Assignment


Laura Browning



Paige Janes



Rose Pacione



Andrea Pena

ADA Clerk


Attendance Message:

When a student is absent from school upon their return they MUST bring a note from their parent or guardian stating when and why they were absent. This note must be turned in to the Attendance office in room 108 in the Main Building within 5 days of the student's return to school. Not turning in notes can result in an attendance warning letter being sent from the Harris County District Attorney's Office and possibly being fined and summoned to appear in court . A telephone call to the attendance office can be made, but it does not replace the note that MUST be turned in. This regulation will be strictly enforced."

Attendance Requirements:

Good attendance is of prime importance for the educational development of each student. A student should never be absent unless it is absolutely necessary. Acceptable and excused absences are the following: personal sickness, sickness in the immediate family, death in the immediate family (immediate family includes grandparents, mother, father, sister and brother), and school-sponsored activities. Any variations of this may be discussed with the student's assistant principal or principal.

With regard to unexcused absences, a student commits a criminal offense if the student is absent for 10 or more days or parts of days in a six-month period or three or more days or parts of days in a four-week period.

  • the student's parent/guardian is subject to prosecution under Section 25.093 of the Texas Education Code and

  • the student is subject to prosecution under Section 25.094 of the Texas Education Code.

The state compulsory attendance law allow for legal action, if necessary, for excessive absences. A student who is absent more than 9 days during the semester may not be given credit except for an illness of the student, as verified by a doctor's written statement showing the dates of absence*, or extenuating circumstances approved by the campus attendance committee, the majority of which consists of classroom teachers.

*It is not necessary for a student to have a note from a doctor each time he/she is ill. However, if the number of absences exceeds 9 days in a semester, and if medical reasons are given for an additional absence, a doctor's note will be required for the day (s) of illness in order to receive academic credit unless waived by the attendance committee.

Early Dismissal:

Students are not to leave the campus for any reason without getting a permit from the office and signing out.

If for some reason a student must leave the campus before the school day is complete, an early dismissal must be obtained from the attendance office or nurse's office. A note signed by the parent asking for an early dismissal, stating date, time, and reason, must be submitted to the attendance office before 7:45 a.m. The student must place his home phone number and 1st period class and room number on the note. The student is responsible for picking up the early dismissal from the attendance office.

In case of an emergency such as illness, the school nurse or other school official will phone a parent to obtain permission for a student to leave campus and will issue the early dismissal. Failure to obtain an early dismissal and proper sign-out will be treated as truancy.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2019 West Corporation. All rights reserved.